The Loop of My Life

** WARNING – I’M GOING TO BE WHINING ABOUT MY NAME IN THE POST SO IF YOU’RE SENSITIVE TO THAT KIND OF THING PLEASE CHECK BACK SOON **

My name is Marisa. It is pronounced MAREE-SA. I always tell people that it is like “Theresa with an M”. 9 times out of 10 people will revert to calling me Marissa. It doesn’t have to be people that I’ve just met either. There have been people who call me Marissa even after working with me for years. The name Marissa has become quite popular over the last 15 years or so and this has caused a lot of problems for me. This is probably because of this woman. Don’t get me wrong. I really like her and was happy for her when she won her Oscar but she spells her name wrong (darnit!). This causes problems for me and the 6 other “Theresa with an M’s” out there like me. I’ve definitely been guilty of mixing people’s names up – I used to work with this woman named Kirstin (the KIR pronounced like the drink) and I’m sure that I constantly called her Kristin. But it drives me batty when people screw up my name. People will do it in emails – people I’ve never met or spoken with – will reply to an email from me where I’ve spelled my name correctly (at least I hope so) with “Dear Marissa”.

Typical conversation
I’m at work. I’m talking with a customer service person ordering something. She asks me for my name. I tell her.
CSP: How do you spell that? Do you spell it like Marissa?
ME: No, you spell it like Marisa M-A-R-I-S-A.

** END WHINING ** (for now)

Leave a Reply

