A story in which a daughter visits her mother’s office and the mother gives thanks.

I brought P to my office yesterday. She’s been suffering with a bad cold and I told her teacher to call me if it didn’t seem like she was feeling well. When they called they also said that P had some wierd red rash creeping up her back so, I got us an appointment to see the doctor at 1:45. I didn’t want to get stuck over the long weekend with her being really sick. There was time to kill in between so she came back to my office with me. I really had only one thing that absolutely had to get done yesterday and that was pretty much done already. I let P take over my computer while I ate my lunch. She turned to me and told me that she had to go to the bathroom so off we went. She peed, she pooped, it was grand. Fast forward to 1:15ish – I figure that it is going to take us a while to get out of there so I tell P that we have to turn off the computer now. She’s totally engrossed but suprisingly doesn’t give me any trouble about it. She helps me to turn off the computer. I say my Holiday goodbyes and wish my co-worker a very happy birthday (Happy Birthday Lil!) and turn to see P grabbing at her butt. She’s squatting and saying, “Mommy, there are bumps in my pants!”. I am totally clueless at this point. I can’t imagine what is going on in there – I thought she might just have a killer wedgie or something. She and I run back into the bathroom only to discover that she pooped in her pants. This is extremely unusual for her – she’s been totally potty trained for over a year now. She thinks the whole thing is extremely hilarious. Oh, the novelty of it all – I get to go to Mommy’s office and poop in my pants!! Now, I have to open the bathroom door a crack, so no one will see my bare assed child dancing around the bathroom, and ask my very sweet co-worker to bring me her bag from school. Thank goodness I took it when I picked her up because there’s a change of clothes in there. We get her into her Care Bear underwear (she insists she wants to show everyone before we put her pants on but I win that one) and come back out to my desk to put her shoes back on. Now I’m cranking to get us out of there in time. The doctor’s office is extremely close by but still I don’t want to be late. She gets her shoes on and I’m gathering our stuff. We walk back towards the bathroom and suddenly she points and says, “Mommy look!”. To my complete horror and embarassment I see that we’ve left a little trail of turds leading up to the bathroom door. The carpet is industrial brown and it is amazing how well it camouflages crap – the things you learn everyday. So, I scoop up the turds and we finally get out of there. I can believe that no one else saw the poops but I can’t believe that no one else stepped in the poop. Like my boss for example. Or my nice co-worker who brought us her school bag – or the birthday girl? No one did and for that I am truly thankful.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. Give thanks.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “A story in which a daughter visits her mother’s office and the mother gives thanks.

  1. Susan says:

    Good lord that’s funny.I hope P feels better! And I hope you live this down at work.

  2. Roola Lenska says:

    P is much much better thank you!! As for work, I’m not sure. I really don’t think anyone noticed what was going on when we were running into the bathroom and then when I was jumping around on the floor making noises of alarm.

Leave a Reply

