Mommy has her moments

I’m not sure that I have very much to add to the discussion about Melissa Summers’ recent appearance on the Today Show. Other people have already done so eloquently already. I will say that I thought, as she suggested, if Melissa had been paired with a fellow Blogger who was opposed to “cocktail” playdates that we would have had a more balanced portrayal of the views on both sides. I thought that she handled herself with grace and humor in a situation where I would have dissolved into a crumpled heap, an angry crumpled heap.

I’m all for being an adult and having a glass of wine with my friends while my child plays with her friends but I don’t get a lot of opportunities to do this. We live in a semi-rural area and have to drive to get to playdates. While I trust my ability to care for my child, supervise my child, parent my child while under the influence of a glass of wine or two I do not trust my ability to drive my child anywhere. Nor would I feel comfortable serving alcohol to my friends who I knew would then have to drive their own children home. I often wish that we lived in a neighborhood with a lot more kids around and this is just one more reason. In all the commentary and postings that I’ve read I haven’t heard this issue mentioned.

I’m a big girl. I know what my tolerance level is and I know what I’m comfortable with. Why can’t we all just agree to be adults and support one another in our choices?

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Mommy has her moments

  1. IzzyMom says:

    You’re absolutely right. We are adults and should be treated as such. If we’re going to have our judgment questioned on this, then why not have total strangers question EVERY decision we make? I mean really…who doesn’t love a good witch hunt?

  2. Susan says:

    I wore my City Mouse tee this week, because it seemed like the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply

