Two Moms

Mrs. Potter
Ever since we moved into our house six years ago we have been friendly with our across the street neighbor, Mrs. Potter. Mrs. Potter is a widow (her Elwood died in 1987) and her only daughter is physically disabled and had to be put in a nursing home round about the time we moved in. Mrs. Potter couldn’t take care of her at home anymore. Her daughter never married and doesn’t have her own family. Mrs. Potter turned 90 this past May and has watched most of her own family and friends pass away as she’s gotten older. Despite her age she was always busy. She drove to visit her daughter twice a week and was always running errands. We’d see her backing out of her driveway and cruise down the street at a brisk 8 mph. I always felt for her and we’ve tried to include her in our lives and in our family. I would always invite her to our family events at home and every Halloween her house was always our first official stop. I would call her if I didn’t see her for a while and try to stop in for a visit (though I hadn’t done that in a long time). I felt that she could be me years on down the road. She was lonely for her daughter and for her husband – whom she hadn’t seen in 20 years! The last couple of years were hard for her as she got older and older she started worrying about her daughter more and more. She wanted to be sure that she would be taken care of if anything happened to her.

Anyhoo, we noticed that she wasn’t around recently and I started to get worried. I called the local police and they said that she had gone into the hospital. I tried calling all the local hospitals but none of them had her listed as a patient. I finally found a name of one of her friends and found out that she had had a stroke and was in the same nursing home as her daughter. I’m glad that they are together now but apparently Mrs. Potter has lost some of her faculties. Her friend said that she doesn’t always recognize her when they visit. We have to go and visit her too. She’ll probably never come home again. I guess that it is just the cycle of life but I’m sad for her. I wish her peace.

Karen’s Mom
Speaking of Mom’s. My friend Karen’s Mom passed away suddenly on Wednesday. She was 61 years old and had only retired one month ago. She had a stroke on Tuesday and overnight into Wednesday just deteriorated completely and died. Needless to say Karen is in total shock. She called me on Wednesday morning and told me and I just can’t stop thinking about it. Today is the wake and tomorrow is the funeral. I called her yesterday to check on her and she said that she was holding it together a little better. She and her Father had gone to their family’s church for a service and it helped her to feel more peaceful about everything. Her son is my daughter’s age and he asked her why all these family members and friends were visiting them. She didn’t want to say that it was because “Grandma died”, cause that sounded too sad. She told him that they were coming to celebrate Grandma’s life. He said, that since it was a celebration they definitely needed some decorations and proceeded to go about making them.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

