Dan Zanes Rocks!!

We took P to see Dan Zanes on Saturday. We all had a great time. It was her first real concert. We’ve taken her to see Sesame Street Live twice. That was fun but it all feels so “canned” even though it is live. This was definitely different. We sat in the balcony because P is so sensitive to loud sounds. When our usher sat us he said we had “the best seats in the house”. I think he was right. As soon as it started Dan encouraged everyone up out of their seats to dance. He also said that we should all sing “as loudly as possible”. I’m glad that he said that because that is just what I did. I was a little afraid that P would tell me not to – though she made me stop my enthusiastic “woooo’s” during the applause. She turned to me and said, “I don’t like it when you scream Mommy”. After that I started yelling “yeaaaaah” instead and that didn’t seem to bother her as much. She was really looking forward to going and I think that it met her expectations.
He opened the show with “The Rock Island Line” which is a song I haven’t heard in years, let alone sung along to. I first learned that song when I was a camper at Camp Thoreau in 1975. That is when my deep love for folk music started. Every day we would all stay in the dining hall after lunch and sing together. The coolest counselors were the ones with the guitars and banjos and the coolest campers were the ones that knew all the words to all the songs backwards and forwards. The camp was started by a group of people who met in the Peace Corps and the progressive, non-competitive, hippy vibe of the place was the main reason my parents chose to send me there. It really shaped a lot of my ideas and feelings about the world and politics in general and for that I am truly thankful.
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

