Friday Night Dinner

I really enjoy cooking on Friday nights for some reason. I usually do the grocery shopping on Friday afternoon after work so I guess it is when my food and ideas are the freshest. Glenn is not usually home in time to eat dinner with us on Fridays so if I’m cooking either it is something big that we are going to eat later (like chicken stock) or something for me that I know I’m going to be eating most of. Tonight in that vein I made pasta with roasted asparagus, tomatoes, tarragon, arugula and shallots.

I washed and trimmed my bunch of asparagus and then chopped it into two inch pieces and put it into a large bowl. I cut a dozen or so tomatoes in half and added them in. In hindsight I probably should have used a lot more of the tomatoes. It definitely would have given the dish a lot more flavor. I peeled and sliced the shallot into large chunks and chopped a small fistful of the tarragon and added those too.

I then tossed the whole mixture with a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and salt and pepper. I roasted the veggies in a 375 degree oven for 15 minutes turning the tray and shaking the veggies once.

While the veggies were roasting I started the pasta boiling and washed and trimmed the arugula and tore it up into little tiny pieces. I saved a cup of the pasta cooking water before I drained it. I added a tablespoon of butter and a drizzle of olive oil to my big pasta bowl to get it ready for tossing.

Once the pasta was ‘al dente’ enough for me I tossed everything, the veggies, the arugula, the butter, the oil, salt and pepper, some lemon juice and a dash or two of the pasta water all together in the bowl.

I thought that all in all it was a pretty successful dish. I would definitely use more tomatoes next time. This could be made with a multitude of different vegetables and herbs. I love to change it up when I cook. I almost never make a recipe exactly as it is written, unless it is something fancy or a brand new technique that I’ve never tried before.

Piper tried some and declared that it didn’t “taste anything like pasta” but I wasn’t exactly expecting a glowing revue from her. I had already made her something else to eat so it wasn’t a big deal. I’m not out to change her food world with my Friday night dinner. What I made is mostly for my own enjoyment and I’m not looking for a big food tussle. We both enjoyed our meals.

P enjoys a hot dog

Piper enjoying a hot dog despite close proximity to unique deliciousness

If you give this recipe a try at home, let me know how it comes out!

Tagged

Leave a Reply

