Not what I meant at all

I’ve been working on a special project at my job. We are measuring sales for two groups of account managers, Robert Smith’s group and Melissa Hardy’s group*. My manager recently asked me to add two new tabs to my Excel workbook to show the Month over Month revenue activity for each team. I made my two new spreadsheets but realized that I couldn’t fit Smith Month over Month 2010 on the tab and have it all fit. I shortened month over month to MOM. Now the tabs read Smith MOM 2010 and Hardy MOM 2010. I was thinking that it was a cute name until the conference call. We were looking at the workbook on the phone with a colleague in another office. We were trying to figure out which of the two spreadsheets he was looking at.

“Wait,” my manager said, “are you on Robert’s MOM or Melissa’s MOM?”

I can see now how that might be a little awkward in a corporate setting.

*Names have been changed to protect the innocent.

Leave a Reply

