Bad Night

Oh mighty Iced Coffee! Make it all better now please? I slept horribly last night. It started out well and good. I fell asleep on the couch watching the news. Mr. Awesome and Piper were out camping in the driveway in my in-law’s camper. Life was good. I went upstairs to the big comfy bed with the a/c going. I brought my phone upstairs too just in case they sent me a message and that was my first mistake. My phone makes a loud buzzing noise from time to time. My phone buzzed its buzzy buzz and woke me up. I’m confused upon waking and think that it was ringing and check it. This happens a few more times before I figure out that it is not ringing it is just being ANNOYING and I finally turn it off. Then I wake up around 3 to go the bathroom and can’t fall back asleep again. I try watching a little TV until I feel tired again but all I can find at that hour is Madonna’s Truth or Dare. I don’t want to turn it up too loud because my mother-in-law is in the next room and she is a very light sleeper and I don’t want to wake her up. I can’t really hear anything they’re saying on the screen but I watch it for a little while anyway. Is it just me or is Madonna either sucking on a lozenge, applying throat spray or eating soup in all the black and white talking parts of that movie?

I had a lot of trouble with insomnia when I was a little kid. My worst fear was being awake after everyone else had fallen asleep. We had a small tropical fish tank in our apartment and I remember many nights sitting up watching the fish swim around while I waited to get tired. As I got older I stopped caring so much about being the only one awake but still wasn’t good at falling asleep. Nowadays I’ll have too much wine and fall asleep early and then wake up in the middle of the night and won’t be able to fall back asleep again, like last night. I thought about coming downstairs to watch TV but I didn’t want to. I should’ve, I could’ve watched Goldie swim around for a while. It might have helped.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

