The Shape in the Sink

We live in the country and have for almost 10 years now. I guess I should be more used to having various critters coming in the house but I can’t say that I have. I was washing my face in the kitchen sink earlier and I didn’t have my glasses on. I do not see very well without them. As I was drying my face I saw a dark shape moving in the corner of the sink. I tried to get closer to see what it was exactly but I couldn’t figure it out. My glasses were in the other room and once I put them on again I didn’t go back to investigate the mysterious shape. I guess that I was kind of hoping that either it was something innocuous or it would get up and walk away while I was out of the room. Later I came down to put on some baked beans for Mr. Awesome’s dinner. As I was rinsing the can out I remembered to look for the shape in the sink and that’s when I saw what I thought was a spider. I glimpsed it for a second and saw a long brown body and multiple bent legs. I got so freaked out I started shrieking and Piper came down from her room to see what I was yelling about. I knew that Glenn was coming home any minute so we waited for him on the back stoop because I was too scared to go back in the kitchen again. When he got home he quickly dispatched the critter out of the sink. He said he didn’t think it was a spider, probably a cricket of some kind. I want to know how something that big got inside the house in the first place??!!

This kind of reminds me of one night when Mr. Awesome woke me from a sound sleep. He did this just to tell me that he had just seen the biggest spider he had ever seen in our basement. He got into bed and promptly fell asleep. I of course laid there in the dark and tried to forget what I just heard.

UGH!! I’m going to be a little freaked out about that for a while now . . . just give me a minute, ok?

Leave a Reply

